Posted by: skyward | September 12, 2008

“Our” School

Exchanging knowing smiles, Daniel and his younger sister busily describe a memorable incident from their all-school meeting this morning.

This is the first year when both my children attend the same school.  Big Brother and Little Sister are now carving out their own places in the same community.  I find it heartwarming to hear them speak about “their” school. 

Check out “Pink Tote Bag, Blue Backpack”: https://lovelindy.wordpress.com/2008/09/05/pink-tote-bag-blue-backpack/

I’ve just completed an essay, which will be published at the end of the month.  It’s a reflection on my recent trip to my alma mater, “bengoshi no gakko” (“lawyers’ school” in Daniel’s words —- with a cynical tone).  Sometimes, by retracing the road once traveled, one discovers a new path.  That’s how I feel about the trip.  I returned home, feeling renewed, refueled, and rejuvenated.  I hope I will be able to share the essay in this blog as well.

Meanwhile, I’ll tell my co-blogger to work on his next post.  His life has suddenly become complicated. Math worksheets, reading assignments (in both English and Japanese), spelling tests, violin practice …..   The list goes on.  This afternoon, after one of those how-can-I-help-Obama-win questions, I inspired Daniel, reminding him of the old saying: The pen is mightier than the sword.  Writing can be a powerful tool.  (Lawyers know that.)

Responses

  1. Good luck on your school, Daniel.
    Looking forward to visiting again.

  2. Lea:

    Thanks for visiting!

    Daniel


Leave a Reply

Categories

